The Simple way is complicated!

Well, not in a bad way. It’s just that there are so many opportunities to serve and connect and learn. I don’t know where to start. So I just will list some of the things I have done so far. Since I can’t be on line after 5 (there are no coffee shops or places to get on internet in this Kensington Neighborhood in Philadelphia),  and I am working on a project for The Simple Way during office hours–I don’t have much time to blog.  But I hope to catch up when I get to Koinonia Partners.

Had a 35 minute interview with Shane Claiborne that was very inspiring. I video taped it, but now I have to learn how to edit it and get it on line.

Am working on a community mapping project which means I research a bunch of community organizations in the area, gather information and will input the data.  This is leading to me getting to know the community and some amazing people.  I love it!  This is just the job for me.

I am going to coordinate a trash pick up. Through a miraculous chain of events and simply by walking down Kensington Street, I made the connections so I have trash bags and a trash pick up point.  There is a lot of trash on my street!

I am going to the morning prayer meetings at 8 am, Very inspiring scripture reading, responsive reading, and prayer. 

Met with a preacher who’s organization has a great relationship with The Simple Way, and he is very interested in looking into Living Springs as a possibility for a retreat/discipleship center.

May have found a key volunteer that The SimpleWay needed- and I didn’t even know they were looking.

Participated in a bible study where mostly people who were in recovery attended–all men–it was a tough looking bunch.  Got welcomed, and at the end prayed over. Great time!

Walking around some of Philadelphia’s toughest streets.  Feeling very safe except for the cars that go really fast when they turn right.  I gotta be careful. Sad to see so much suffering. But so many people are reaching out.

The Hospitality House is like my retreat center–only the manager is staying there, quiet, kind of nice to have the space to myself although I do feel a little lonely at times.

Picked up trash just before the grassy field in the neighborhood was mowed. Shane called over to the office to see if I would do that because I had expressed willingness to pick up trash.  Met some very nice workers and even a person walking by who wanted to help out.

Found out that needle exchanges are necessary so that drug addicts don’t get hepatitis and aids in addition to the bad effects of drugs. Sad.  But important.

Getting to know this neighborhood and many at The Simple Way. Inspiring. I hope that my contribution will be helpful.

Got the best water melon ever for only $5 at the near by produce stand.  Eating very simply, but well.  Caretaker offered me anything I wanted in the frig after I helped clean it out of junky stuff.

Okay, back to work!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

