Serendipitous connections

Serendipity is word I still remember learning as a teenager or maybe I was a young adult.  The idea that what happens along the way to a goal is as important or perhaps even more important than the goal itself.  I am finding this to be true on this journey to visit intentional Christian communities.

At first I thought my goal was to have something to share with others that described all the communities that I am visiting. I am taking pictures.  This is something that is rather foreign to me, but I realize that having visuals both in my blog and in the slide show that I plan on sharing is important. As I take pictures, I imagine how I will share the experience and what I will say.  I am not taking as many pictures of people as I am of signs and places and scenery.  More about that later.

I am finding that on my journey I am learning about much more than intentional community. For example, I learned about Harvest Home www.harvesthome.org where women and children who have been involved as victims of sex trafficking find healing and wholeness. That wonderful place is near Kansas City which is nearer to my home than any of the places I am visiting. But I needed to come to Plow Creek Fellowship near Princeton, Illinois, to find out about Harvest Home.

When I met Natalie here at Plow Creek Fellowship, I learned about her because I connected with the Thirdway Church in St. Paul,  Minnesota.  Our conversation centered mostly around intentional Christian community, what it means to be a Christian,  and we touched on Christian apologetics which was instrumental in helping me commit my life to Jesus. She  then told me about a resource called “Echo the Story” which you can read about here: http://echo.wearesparkhouse.org/  Here is a brief description:

“Founded by Michael Novelli, Echo the Story is an imaginative way to engage in the Bible using storytelling, creative reflection, and dialogue”

Looking over this material, I feel inspired and hopeful that these materials might really engage our young people in getting to know the Bible with an enthusiasm that can help them be more biblically savvy.  I think it might help me as well.

One thing that is a common denominator of the people I meet who have committed their lives to living in intentional Christian communities is that they are very serious about their walk with Jesus.  Thus, they have much wisdom and resources to share that will help me both in community living as well as at our church.

Serendipity.  Yes, that is a word I am going to use again.  But now I know more clearly that since I have surrendered my life to following Jesus, he directs my steps time and time again to those places where people are present to meet who have knowledge and hearts to share important things which will help me on that walk. For that, I am grateful.

I decided that if I am going to be writing a whole blog post about a word, I had better look it up to see what the official definition is. Here is is:

Serendipity means a “happy accident” or “pleasant surprise”; a fortunate mistake. Specifically, the accident of finding something good or useful while not specifically searching for it. The word has been voted one of the ten English words hardest to translate in June 2004 by a British translation company.[1] However, due to its sociological use, the word has been exported into many other languages.[2]

Leave a Reply

