Blueberry paradise at Plow Creek Fellowship

When I asked folks at Reba Place Fellowship what work there was to be done at Plow Creek Fellowship, I was overjoyed to find out that it was blueberry season. Blueberries are my favorite berries, and I have not had a lot of fresh fruit since I left home.  So this morning I got up early and headed over in a borrowed car to the U-Pick Blueberry Patch to pick blueberries for the farmer’s market and eat as many as I wanted while I picked.

I am happy to say that I picked quite a few even though I ate a lot.  I tried to eat those that had imperfections and thus were not useful.  After we picked enough for the farmer’s market, I was invited to pick some for myself as a kind of payment. I have been munching on them this afternoon. Pure bliss:)

These blueberry bushes, which have been growing since about 1984, are big and healthy.  I think it is such a great business to have for a community.  It provides fresh fruit that can also easily be frozen.  There is income from selling and people picking. There are friendly interactions to be had both by customers coming as well as farmer’s market customers. 

I had a nice conversation with one of the pick your own folks as we picked which lead to a discussion of faith which lead to me sharing one of my little hand outs which lists some resources that I am sharing. I hope to post it on the blog. 

I also had an interesting conversation with Meg and Jim who have been at Plow Creek as novice members for twelve years.  Working while getting to know someone and the community is a very useful enterprise.  Getting to eat blueberries at the same time multiplies the experience’s pleasure exponentially.

I admit that by the time I was done picking my own berries, I was getting a bit tired of blueberries. But after about five hour’s break, and being chilled, they taste scrumptious.

Ah, the simple pleasures of country life. What a blessing to be out here in these peaceful surroundings.

Leave a Reply

