my wardrobe for the trip–very simple

I finally realized that I am never satisfied with the clothes I wear. I get used clothes–often free–and then don’t feel completely happy with them.  So I decided to take matters into my own hands and buy a pattern and fabric.  I hope that my friend will be able to make them or help me make them before Monday.  I am getting kind of attached to doing this.

I bought very easy patterns that have draw string pants and shorts with a simple top–no zipper or button.  Another patter has my favorite style of long skirt.  I bought some cotton material that has a grey and white pattern that won’t show the dirt and if it fades, it won’t be noticeable.  I can wash one outfit each night and if it doesn’t dry I have a spare. 

I want to be like the Peace Pilgrim who wore a tunic with pockets which contained her change of clothes.  Well, okay, I’m not that extreme…yet.  But I’m working on it.

I also am going to ask my seamstress friend if she will help me make a tunic with plastic inserts which I can place bumper stickers or hand made messages that I feel led to write.  I want to have interesting conversations with people and invite all kinds of folks to talk to me.

I want to be able to give a brochure to each person I meet which has inspiring information that is practical as well.  I will take people’s names and contact information in my guest book and invite them to draw something or write something in it. 

I am getting so many ideas for my journey. I welcome your ideas as well.

Leave a Reply

