Goal: to inspire pastors and church leaders to become pacifists

First I had better define a pacifist:

“opposition to war or violence as a means of settling disputes; specifically: refusal to bear arms on moral or religious grounds” And here is the Wikipedia definition:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christian_nonviolence

I have been opposed to violence even before I gave my life to Christ eleven years ago at age forty seven in 2001.  Yet when I decided to dedicate my life to following Christ, I did not focus on this aspect of his teaching as much as I could have. The wonderful people who inspired me with their love and acceptance to surrender my life to Jesus were not so concerned about this topic, and I didn’t want to make waves.

But recently I discovered two evangelical mega churches that are peace churches–The Meeting House and Woodland Hills Church.  The teaching pastors of these wonderful churches –Bruxy Cavey and Greg Boyd have so clearly and beautifully explained both the importance of and the logic of Jesus teachings of non-violence.  They, more than any other teachers I have experienced, have helped me realize that as long as the majority of churches support war and violence as solutions, non-Christians will not be inspired to give their lives to Christ, and many Christians will continue to be just “pew warmers”.

I have a passion to share the gospel with people. Yet most of my friends are not interested because they do not see the fruit of many Christians making a difference in stopping the horrible violence that is happening. Why should they even listen to Christians when so many don’t follow the teachings of Jesus?  I sure can understand this reasoning.

And so I pray that my family and others might join together to figure out ways to inspire pastors and church  leaders to read books such as Myth of a Christian Nation by Greg Boyd and to start thinking about God in another way as this video shows http://reknew.org/announcing-reknew/

I really believe that Christians leaders are ready to hear Greg’s message and share it with their congregations.  Greg Boyd has been called one of the twenty most influential Christian scholars. Even though 1000 people left his church of 5000 when he preached a series of sermons on non-violence, Woodland Hills Church continues to thrive.

I want to be part of a community of people who share this message effectively.  I am diving into the teachings of Greg Boyd which I continue to find to be in alignment with scripture and yet prove beyond a shadow of a doubt that Jesus calls us to be pacifists.

 

Leave a Reply

